American Institute of Architects Announce 2019 Awards

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has announced its 2019 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture. The award program celebrates the best contemporary architecture and highlights the many ways buildings and spaces can improve lives. AIA’s nine-member jury selects submissions that demonstrate design achievement, including a sense of place and purpose, ecology, environmental sustainability and history.

Recipients for the 2019 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture are:


TIRPITZ Museum, Blåvand, Denmark | BIG-Bjarke Ingels Group


Casey House, Toronto, Ontario Canada | Hariri Pontarini Architects


Confluence Park, San Antonio | Lake | Flato Architects + Matsys


Crosstown Concourse, Memphis, Tennessee | Looney Ricks Kiss


Restoration of the Rotunda at the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia | John G. Waite Associates, Architects, PLLC


Arlington Elementary School, Tacoma, Washington | Mahlum Architects


Starter Home No. 4-15, Saint Thomas/Ninth, New Orleans | OJT


Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, Washington | The Freelon Group (Now part of Perkins+Will), Adjaye Associates, Davis Brody Bond, and SmithGroup


Smart Factory, Hoffman Estates, Illinois | Barkow Leibinger


source: aia