Frank Lloyd Wright Sites Inscribed on UNESCO World Heritage List

After more than 15 years of extensive, collaborative efforts, eight of Frank Lloyd Wright’s major works have officially been inscribed to the UNESCO World Heritage List by the World Heritage Committee. The Wright sites that have been inscribed include:

1. Unity Temple. Oak Park, Illinois.

2. Frederick C. Robie House. Chicago, Illinois.

3. Taliesin. Spring Green, Wisconsin.

4. Hollyhock House. Los Angeles, California.

5. Fallingwater. Mill Run, Pennsylvania.

6. Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House. Madison, Wisconsin.

7. Taliesin West. Scottsdale, Arizona.

8. Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. New York, New York.

The collection of buildings, formally known in the nomination as The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright, span 50 years of Wright’s influential career, and mark the first modern architecture designation in the United States on the World Heritage List. Of the 1,092 World Heritage sites around the world, the group of Wright sites will now join an existing list of 23 sites in the United States.

 “It is an immense honor to have Frank Lloyd Wright’s work recognized on the world stage among the most vital and important cultural sites on Earth like Taj Mahal in India, the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt and the Statue of Liberty in New York,” said Stuart Graff, president and CEO of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation. “To have this unique American legacy placed alongside these precious few sites around the globe is meaningful because it recognizes the profound influence of this American architect and his impact on the whole world. This designation is a great source of national pride, and while eight buildings are included in the inscription, it recognizes the importance of Wright’s work, embodied in every one of his buildings and designs. These sites are not simply World Heritage monuments because they are beautiful. It’s so much more than that. These are places of profound influence, inspiration, and connection.”

source: frank lloyd wright foundation